E3 Get Off the Hype Train: Sony

By: Stephen Chislett

People found Sony’s press conference to be one of the better ones at E3. I can’t help but disagree. Here’s why:

The Last Guardian is boring

I’m sorry, it really is. Even the near-death scenes don’t really match up to the excitement and pure thrill of Shadow of the Colossus. It’s clear that they re-used assets from Ico and Shadow of the Colossus. It’s not that sticking to familiar aesthetics is a bad thing, but something new would be nice for a change. The platforming puzzles don’t seem that great, the bird-pet-thing seems like a bore to command, and the overall demonstration of the game has no depth to it. The one thing that Team Ico prevails in is its storytelling, but until I get a taste for its plot, the game has no flavor. And now we have to wait a year for the release. Until then, I’d lay off on the hype.

TheLastGaurdian

The huntress talk too much in Horizon: Zero Dawn

My game immersion is completely ruined. I don’t care how cool hunting robotic beasts is, that redhead needs to take a breather and focus on the task at hand. “I gotta get under it”. Gee, I wonder where the weak point is?! I hate this hand-holding and needless witty commentary that have been incorporated into dialogue lately. Developers need to learn how to show instead of tell. I know you have a charismatic character you want us to look at, but I want more gameplay. If the finally release has the huntress being this chatty, then I won’t bother picking it up.

Dreams?

Dreams is an ambitious new game from Media Molecule, the wonderful people behind Little Big Planet. Dreams is a lot like LBP in the sense that players are able to create using assets made by the company, share with other players, and play other people’s creations. The difference here is that you can play a game in LBP, whereas Dreams is just a surreal animating tool. One that looks frustrating to use. Players have to move the controller itself to move things when animating, which looks much more inconvenient than using a keyboard and mouse. Not only that, but it’s more of an “art” game than a fun game. I can see some hardcore users making some great animations, but the rest of us will either struggle with it, or won’t find it interesting enough.

Dreams

PlayStation tries to be Netflix with PS Vue

I don’t understand why this needs to be a thing. Netflix is a perfectly good service for streaming movies and television. And chances are, people who have enough money to buy Sony’s fancy Gamebox 4 also have enough money for cable. If I look into my crystal ball hard enough, I can see no one using PlayStation Vue. Partially because it’s only available in select areas, but mostly because no one cares. At a price of $49.99 to $69.99 per month, I don’t see this becoming a reliable service from Sony.

Final Thoughts:

Final Fantasy 7 remake is where it’s at. That’s Sony’s defining announcement, not The Last Guardian. I’m sorry, I just don’t see what’s so great about what was shown. I understand The Last Guardian was a long time coming, but what they showed just didn’t hold up for me. Sony can do better. I know it.

This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

