Games that Inspire: Guitar Hero/Rock Band

By: James Reid

guitarhero

Everyone has played games that has changed their lives in a way that is bigger than people might expect. Games that have inspired them to try something new or make a personal change in their life. When it comes to inspiration from video games, one of the best examples I think of is Guitar Hero and Rock Band.

Ever since Guitar Hero was released 10 years ago in 2005, players have not only enjoyed mastering the game’s instrument, but lots of people have also been encouraged to learn how to play the instruments in real life. However, not everyone was inspired to learn to play guitar when Guitar Hero was first released. It wasn’t until 2007 when Guitar Hero’s original developer, Harmonix left the project to start a new similar one, Rock Band, when people got really inspired.

Following the release of Rock Band and their addition of vocals and drums to the already established guitar-based rhythm game, people’s inspiration grew beyond just the desire to learn guitar, and branched out to more forms of music, such as drums and vocals. The first time I played Guitar Hero was 8 years ago in 2007, and as a ten year old kid I wasn’t too inspired to do much of anything aside from beating the game on easy difficulty. As I got a little older, I got more invested in the game and that’s when my interests starting to peak.

When I was about fourteen, myself and two friends would play Rock Band, pretty much every day. This is when I started to get more interested in learning to play guitar for real—a part of this inspiration came from watching one of my best friends play and wanting to get that experience for myself, but I wouldn’t have had that initial interest and motivation in learning it if it wasn’t for playing the game for all those years.

So I got a guitar for Christmas that year and started to learn how to play it and I really loved it, I don’t have the time to play as often nowadays but when I do break out my guitar and play for a bit—I love it. Learning to play guitar is an experience and hobby that I will always have and it will always be something I’m glad I pursued. If it wasn’t for the Guitar Hero and Rock Band franchises, I probably would never have learned to play guitar and would have missed out on a great hobby and skill. These games inspired me and countless others, including one of the my other best friends who learned how to play drums after playing Rock Band for so long, to learn a new instrument and develop their love for a game and make it something they love outside of gaming. All that being said, I don’t think the keyboard from Rock Band 3 inspired many people.

This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

