The Disappointment of the Zelda U

By: Rachel Frederick

zelda

When the Wii U was first released all I could think about was how excited I was for a new Legend of Zelda game. Of course with a new console we saw games created like Legend of Zelda: Windwaker for the Nintendo GameCube, and Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess for the Wii, to name only a very few more recent games. As well as other Zelda games that were made after for those two consoles, the DS, and the 3DS. So the release of the Wii U meant that there was going to be an exciting new Zelda game, and I couldn’t wait.

Shortly after the release of the Wii U, it was announced. A new Zelda game that was in the works in 2013, with a release date for 2015, and the promise of it being something very different from the other Zelda games. As a huge Zelda fan, I was elated! This game had so much talk about it, and only a few clips that I know personally made myself excited for this game. During this time, they also released Legend of Zelda: Windwaker HD which did help me cope with waiting until 2015.

Then, it was first announced, that they had to push back the new Zelda U because they were working hard to make sure it was the best game. I was definitely disappointed, but told myself I could wait another year. During this time, they had released Hyrule Warriors – and while it had nothing to do with the Legend of Zelda storyline of the Zelda universe, it was still enjoyable to get to play as different characters from the Zelda Universe.

In November of 2015, it was announced that Twilight Princess was being remastered for the Wii U, with a new amiibo. For those who don’t know me, Twilight Princess is my favourite Zelda game. I had a tradition that during exams I would play through the game again and again as a way to de-stress myself from studying. This announcement made me forgive any delays that Nintendo had been facing for the new game, because I could get my favourite game in HD.

The-Legend-of-Zelda-Twilight-Princess-HD-wallpaper.jpg

Now 2016 has rolled around, and Twilight Princess was released in March, and it is fantastic. However, a month after releasing it, Nintendo came forward and announced that the new Zelda game is not going to be released until 2017, and it is no longer an exclusive Wii U game. Instead, it will be made for the Wii U and the new console they are planning to release, the “NX”. A console not many people know about as of yet, just a lot of rumors and a few small things mentioned about it.

Do you feel all jumbled around yet? Me too. But I kept thinking to myself, at least I have Twilight Princess to hold me over while I continue to wait. A few nights ago when I was playing, my roommate asked me how I was enjoying my new game, and as I explained to him how the game was not new, but just a remastered version of a game that was released in 2006, the realization hit me. It was an old game, and I already knew the storyline.

The reason I wrote this timeline is because of that realization. As a huge Zelda fan I found my emotions being pushed around by waiting for Zelda U. While the HD releases are great, it is still disappointing that we do not have a new Legend of Zelda game that is for the Wii U. Which means that the Wii U will be the first Nintendo Console to not have any new game released from the main Zelda timeline. Which is a big deal! To have that kind of title is really disappointing, not only for the Wii U, but just Nintendo in general. For a lot of people, the Legend of Zelda series may be one of the few things that keeps them connected to Nintendo. For awhile, I was that person. I own most Nintendo consoles, but I have always been terrible at the Mario games, and the real reason I continued to want a new console was for the Zelda games. For over a year the only 3DS game I owned was Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Having remastered games is great, but it isn’t a new game, and there is still a definite void for fans because of that.

I know that a lot of people have the feeling that the Wii U in general was a flop, or a huge disappointment, but I was one of the fans of this console. So to not get this game is quite disappointing in its own rights because I feel it may have been a game to help save the Wii U’s credibility. Now, when the new Zelda game is released, the Wii U version will be severely under appreciated, because this game is going to be made for the NX. So just like the original Twilight Princess game, where very few people bothered with the GameCube version of the game, and everyone wanted the Wii version instead. It seems that this build up, only to have the game constantly delayed and end up becoming a dual release on the Wii U and new NX, is a further sign of the decline and disappointment that the Wii U has brought to many Nintendo fans. But I remain hopeful for the new Zelda game, and the new console. In the meantime, I will continue to fight evil, and save Hyrule and the Twilight realm from Ganondorf.

This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

